[ovs-dev] [PATCH v4 0/7] Output packet batching.

Jan Scheurich jan.scheurich at ericsson.com
Thu Oct 5 21:50:03 UTC 2017


Thanks, Ilya, for the new version!
We will give it a try and come back with new test results and reviews.
Regards, Jan

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Ilya Maximets [mailto:i.maximets at samsung.com]
> Sent: Thursday, 05 October, 2017 17:06
> To: ovs-dev at openvswitch.org; Bhanuprakash Bodireddy <bhanuprakash.bodireddy at intel.com>
> Cc: Heetae Ahn <heetae82.ahn at samsung.com>; Antonio Fischetti <antonio.fischetti at intel.com>; Eelco Chaudron
> <echaudro at redhat.com>; Ciara Loftus <ciara.loftus at intel.com>; Kevin Traynor <ktraynor at redhat.com>; Darrell Ball
> <dball at vmware.com>; Jan Scheurich <jan.scheurich at ericsson.com>; Ilya Maximets <i.maximets at samsung.com>
> Subject: [PATCH v4 0/7] Output packet batching.
> 
> This patch-set inspired by [1] from Bhanuprakash Bodireddy.
> Implementation of [1] looks very complex and introduces many pitfalls [2]
> for later code modifications like possible packet stucks.
> 
> This version targeted to make simple and flexible output packet batching on
> higher level without introducing and even simplifying netdev layer.
> 
> Basic testing of 'PVP with OVS bonding on phy ports' scenario shows
> significant performance improvement.
> 
> Test results for time-based batching for v3:
> https://mail.openvswitch.org/pipermail/ovs-dev/2017-September/338247.html
> 
> [1] [PATCH v4 0/5] netdev-dpdk: Use intermediate queue during packet transmission.
>     https://mail.openvswitch.org/pipermail/ovs-dev/2017-August/337019.html
> 
> [2] For example:
>     https://mail.openvswitch.org/pipermail/ovs-dev/2017-August/337133.html
> 
> Version 4:
> 	* Rebased on current master.
> 	* Rebased on top of "Keep latest measured time for PMD thread."
> 	  (Jan Scheurich)
> 	* Microsecond resolution related patches integrated.
> 	* Time-based batching without RFC tag.
> 	* 'output_time' renamed to 'flush_time'. (Jan Scheurich)
> 	* 'flush_time' update moved to 'dp_netdev_pmd_flush_output_on_port'.
> 	  (Jan Scheurich)
> 	* 'output-max-latency' renamed to 'tx-flush-interval'.
> 	* Added patch for output batching statistics.
> 
> Version 3:
> 
> 	* Rebased on current master.
> 	* Time based RFC: fixed assert on n_output_batches <= 0.
> 
> Version 2:
> 
> 	* Rebased on current master.
> 	* Added time based batching RFC patch.
> 	* Fixed mixing packets with different sources in same batch.
> 
> 
> Ilya Maximets (7):
>   dpif-netdev: Keep latest measured time for PMD thread.
>   dpif-netdev: Output packet batching.
>   netdev: Remove unused may_steal.
>   netdev: Remove useless cutlen.
>   timeval: Introduce time_usec().
>   dpif-netdev: Time based output batching.
>   dpif-netdev: Count sent packets and batches.
> 
>  lib/dpif-netdev.c     | 334 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-------------
>  lib/netdev-bsd.c      |   6 +-
>  lib/netdev-dpdk.c     |  70 ++++-------
>  lib/netdev-dummy.c    |   6 +-
>  lib/netdev-linux.c    |   8 +-
>  lib/netdev-provider.h |   7 +-
>  lib/netdev.c          |  12 +-
>  lib/netdev.h          |   2 +-
>  lib/timeval.c         |  22 ++++
>  lib/timeval.h         |   2 +
>  vswitchd/vswitch.xml  |  16 +++
>  11 files changed, 336 insertions(+), 149 deletions(-)
> 
> --
> 2.7.4



More information about the dev mailing list